README.md 2.54 KB
Newer Older
1
# Git It Together!
French, Robert's avatar
French, Robert committed
2
'Git It Together' is a series of short, interactive workshops focused on using
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
git as a tool for organized technical collaboration.Each workshop will feature
a short, interactive presentation, followed by an open Q&A session to answer
any git questions you may have.

## Time and Place
This workshop meets most Thursdays at 9:00am in the JICS Auditorium
(5100 RM 128), and is open to any ORNL staff, students, and visitors.
French, Robert's avatar
French, Robert committed
10

French, Robert's avatar
French, Robert committed
11
12
Offsite folks can join us via [BlueJeans](https://bluejeans.com/309751285).

13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
### Put it on your Calendar!
Outlook and iCal users can [subscribe to upcoming workshops](webcal://code.ornl.gov/git-it-together/meetings/raw/master/git-it-together.ics).

## Who should come?
The goal of this workshop is to spread adoption of git at ORNL, so we will
largely focus on lowering the barrier of entry for new users. That being said,
we want to keep it lively, so we will on occasion cover some of the wilder
aspects of git.
French, Robert's avatar
French, Robert committed
21
22
23
24
25

Folks who are already comfortable with git are strongly encouraged to attend and
help answer questions, provide tips for new users, and to help advocate for
expanding the adoption of git at ORNL.

26
27
28
### Chat with other ORNL git users
Curious about upcoming events? Have questions about git, or need to bounce an
idea around? Join us and other ORNL git users on [Slack](https://ornl.slack.com/messages/git/).
29

French, Robert's avatar
French, Robert committed
30
## Workshop Topics
31
32
33
* [Jan 26: Continuous Integration with Gitlab Runners](continuous-integration-with-gitlab-runners/)
* [Feb 2: Desktop Clients for Git](desktop-clients-for-git/)
* [Feb 9: Using Remotes to Choose what you Share](using-remotes-to-choose-what-you-share/)
34
* [Feb 16: What is a Merge Request?](what-is-a-merge-request/)
35
* [Feb 23: Don't Panic -- Gitting unlost](dont-panic-gitting-unlost/)
36

37
### Git Involved!
French, Robert's avatar
French, Robert committed
38
39
40
41
Have a suggestion for a topic, or want to volunteer to speak at one of the
workshops? Just [open an issue](https://code.ornl.gov/git-it-together/meetings/issues)
on this repo!

42
43
44
You can also [Request Access](https://code.ornl.gov/git-it-together/meetings/project_members/request_access)
or click the "Request Access" button at the top of this page.

45
### Recent Workshops
46
* [Jan 5: Git-Flow -- The Standard Git Workflow](git-flow-the-standard-git-workflow/)
47
* [Dec 29: Branches for Fun and Profit](branches-for-fun-and-profit/)
48
* [Dec 1: Using code.ornl.gov](using-code-ornl-gov/)
French, Robert's avatar
French, Robert committed
49
50
51
52
53

## Other Resources
* Ten Simple Rules for Taking Advantage of Git and GitHub [PDF](resources/ten-simple-rules.pdf)
* Git Immersion [Tutorial](http://gitimmersion.com/)
* Learn Git Branching [Tutorial](http://learngitbranching.js.org/)